Country Music’s Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022 announced

A country legend whose reign was tragically cut short; one of the last surviving pioneers of rock and roll and an executive with a peerless eye for talent join country music’s most esteemed club later this year.

Keith Whitley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Joe Galante will be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame, the Country Music Association announced Tuesday.

Joe Galante, Jerry Lee Lewis and Lorrie Morgan pose for a portrait after Galante, Lewis and Morgan's late husband Keith Whitley were announced as 2022 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees during a press conference at the Country Music Hall of Fame Tuesday, May 17, 2022, in Nashville, Tenn.

Whitley joins as this year’s “Modern Era Artist,” while Lewis is recognized as a “Veteran Era Artist.” Galante’s induction is in the “non-performer” category, which rotates tri-annually with Recording/Touring Musician and Songwriter categories.

The 2022 inductions bring the total number of Hall of Fame inductees to 149. Inductees are voted on by CMA’s Hall of Fame Panels of Electors, an anonymous body chosen by the CMA Board of Directors.

Add Comment